Investor Directory

Province of Nova Scotia

The Province of Nova Scotia is one of 10 provinces and three territories that make up Canada. Like the other provinces there is an elected legislature.

The government of Nova Scotia consists of a 52-member elected House of Assembly and a Lieutenant-Governor who is the Queen's representative in the province. The Lieutenant-Governor is appointed by the Governor General on the advice of the Prime Minister and the federal Cabinet.

The members of the provincial House of Assembly are elected by Nova Scotians aged 18 and over. There are three main political parties in the legislature: the Liberal Party, the Progressive Conservative Party and the New Democratic Party. Members may also sit as independents.